Cumbria Chamber expands Board of Directors with two new appointments

Cumbria Chamber of Commerce is delighted to announce the appointment of two new Board Members, Gail Rajjayabun of David Allen and Cheryl Corson of Scott Duff & Co Solicitors.

Cheryl Corson, Solicitor and Director at Scott Duff & Co Solicitors, is responsible for the day-to-day running of the business as well as a case load of family law work. Cheryl’s reason for joining the Chamber centres on her dedication to local and small businesses. Cheryl said: “As a Cumbrian, I believe that it is important to promote local business as much as possible. I also believe that small businesses such as mine deserve to have the same representation and say in matters as large and national companies. I hope to be able to offer a different perspective to the board on behalf of professional services and small local businesses, and that in turn, this will help other small businesses in our community.” Find out more about Cheryl here.

Gail Rajjayabun, Head of People Development at David Allen, brings to the table her background in accountancy and people development. Gail’s role at David Allen is to ensure that employees are thriving by supporting them to develop knowledge and skills so that both clients and employees have an amazing experience. Reflecting on her reason for joining the Chamber, Gail said: “The Chamber has a vital role to play in our business community and I hope that my diverse skill set will be a valuable contribution to the board and help the continued success of the Chamber and Cumbria. The board is made up of some very talented people and I am excited to be working with them. It is a great way for me to be able to give back to the community.” Find out more about Gail here.

Allan Wilson, President of Cumbria Chamber of Commerce, expressed his enthusiasm about the new board members, stating, “I’m excited to welcome Gail and Cheryl to the dedicated team of local business leaders which make up Cumbria Chamber’s Board of Directors. I anticipate the positive contribution they both will make to our job of overseeing the work of the Chamber and its mission to support and stand alongside Cumbrian businesses of all types and sizes.”

List of current Chamber board members

  • Suzanne Caldwell (Cumbria Chamber of Commerce), Managing Director
  • Allan Wilson (Pirelli Tyres), President
  • Anand Puthran (McMenon Engineering Services), Vice President
  • Alan Wilson (L & W Wilson), Non-executive Director
  • Edward O’Keeffe (Furness Internet), Non-executive Director
  • Tom Waterhouse (Stagecoach), Non-executive Director
  • Barry Leahey (Playdale Playgrounds), Non-executive Director
  • Cheryl Corson (Scott Duff & Co Solicitors), Non-executive Director
  • Gail Rajjayabun (David Allen), Non-executive Director

To find out more about all of our Directors click here.

© Cumbria Chamber of Commerce